Services and Methods

What we can do for you

Our Approach

There are a variety of methods for systematically promoting the conception and evaluation of human-computer interaction. Below are a number of options that can be performed here at the Institute of Psychology. Of course, additional project-specific methods can also be used.

Usability-Testing

The method of usability testing is used for already funktioning applications (i.e. prototypes, betaversions or applications which are already in use), this is done with the help of the target group. The users utilise a guide to complete a predefine set of exercises. The goal is to spot potential mistakes and problem areas within applications, enabling designers and developers to fix them. The testing is usually recorded which is used as the data for the analysis. Additionally the eyemovements can be recorded and analysed via eytracking.

Online Surveys

The collection of users' needs as well as experiences via an online survey can often be very useful for the development of an application. These online surveys can be designed, implemented and evaluated by us.

Eye Tracking

With the help of an eye tracker, it is possible to record the eye movements and their length of stay in certain places of the interface. The eyetracker we use works almost imperceptibly (non-invasively) because it is built into the screen and does not need to be attached to the user. The data obtained can be used as a measure for various types of analysis.

User & Task Analysis

The needs and requirements of the target group can be collected and understood based on a "User Task Analysis", also concrete development opportunities can be identified. End users or potential customers are questioned in interviews and possibly observed during interaction with the products. The main focus is on the working environment, expectations, needs and work processes. The means for this are semi-structured interviews (also called guide interviews), which can also be extended with video recordings.

Persona and Scenario

Personas are fictional characters created through research to represent different types of users who may use your product, service or website. Creating personas can help understand the needs, experiences, behaviors, and goals of users. Scenarios are fictional processes in which personas interact, this helps to understand and describe the user context.

(Big) Data Analysis

In our research and service projects, we deal daily with quantitative data and have a lot of experience in the field of statistical analysis. In addition to classic group comparisons in experiments or A / B testing, we can also prepare and integrate data from a variety of sources to develop a comprehensive understanding of user experience and behavior. Unstructured data can also be used to develop models of user experience and behavior using data mining and machine learning, leading to new insights for development.

Prototyping

This method makes it possible to develop and test user interfaces and guides "on paper". For this purpose, a so-called wireframe prototype is created and tested together with end users. The results thus obtained are used for improvement between the tests, which are then retested with other users ("iterative cycle"). Normally, 2-4 iterations of 3-4 users are enough. The method provides good results because the concept is based on user feedback rather than speculative assumptions. This ensures that the implemented prototype works the first time and that defects do not need to be corrected in retrospect.

Are you interested in planning and implementing important steps in your project in a user-friendly way?

Our customers

We have been working with numerous companies and public institutions for many years. We are also happy to provide you with personal references that provide information about the quality of the cooperation. Get in touch with us.

Actelion
Allgemeine Plakatgesellschaft APG
Aperto Schweiz
Bank Coop
Basler Kantonalbank
Schweizerische Bundeskanzlei
Coop
Credit Suisse
EHB – Eidgenössisches Hochschulinstitut für Berufsbildung
EKS – Elektrizitätswerk Kanton Schaffhausen
Fenaco
Imagepoint
Interhome
Kanton Basel-Stadt
Kanton Luzern
Kanton St.Gallen
Kreisvier Communications AG
Kuoni
Nationale Suisse
SBB
Schweizerische Mobiliar
Stimmt AG
Swisscom
Tamedia
UBS AG
Universitätsspital Zürich
Vacando
Wogg
Zeeyoo
Zürcher Kantonalbank

Dienstleistungen und Methoden

Was wir für Sie tun können

Unser Ansatz

Es gibt eine Vielzahl an Methoden, um die Konzeption und Evaluation der Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion systematisch voran zu treiben. Im Folgenden finden sich eine Reihe von Möglichkeiten, die hier am Institut für Psychologie durchgeführt werden können. Natürlich werden projektspezifisch weitere Methoden beigezogen.

Usability-Testing

Mit der Methode des Usability-Testings werden bereits funktionsfähige Applikationen (z.B. Prototypen, Betaversionen oder bereits eingesetzte Anwendungen) mit Hilfe der Zielgruppe getestet. Mittels Leitfaden werden die Benutzer dazu aufgefordert ein zuvor definiertes Set an Aufgaben zu bearbeiten. Diese Aufgaben sind applikationsspezifisch. Ziel ist es, allfällige Fehler und Problembereiche der Applikation zu finden, sodass Designer und Entwickler diese beseitigen können, bevor die Applikation in den produktiven Einsatz kommt. Das Testing wird auf Video aufgezeichnet (Auswertungsbasis). Zusätzlich kann die Blickbewegung mit Hilfe des Eyetrackers für weitere Analysen aufgezeichnet werden.

Online Befragungen

Für die Entwicklung einer Applikation kann die Erhebung der Benutzerbedürfnisse und –erfahrungen mittels einer Onlineumfrage oft sehr nützlich sein. Diese Onlineumfragen können von uns konzipiert, umgesetzt und ausgewertet werden.

Eye Tracking

Mit Hilfe eines Eyetrackers ist es möglich, die Augenbewegungen und deren Verweildauer an bestimmten Orten des Interfaces aufzuzeichnen. Der von uns eingesetzte Eyetracker arbeitet beinahe unmerklich (noninvasiv), da dieser in den Bildschirm eingebaut ist und nicht am Benutzer befestigt werden muss. Die davon erhaltenen Daten können als Masse für diverse Analysen verwendet werden.

User & Task Analyse

Anhand einer “User Task Analyse” werden Bedürfnisse und Anforderungen der Zielgruppenbenutzer erhoben und verstanden, sowie konkrete Entwicklungschancen identifiziert. Dazu werden Endbenutzer oder potenzielle Kunden in Interviews befragt und evtl. bei der Interaktion mit den Produkten beobachtet. Im Hauptfokus stehen Arbeitsumfeld, Erwartungen, Bedürfnisse und Arbeitsprozesse. Mittel dazu sind halbstrukturierte Interviews (auch Leitfadeninterviews genannt), die auch mit Videoaufzeichnungen erweitert werden können.

Personas und Szenarien

Personas sind fiktionale Charaktere, die aufgrund von Forschung erstellt werden um verschiedene Usertypen zu repräsentieren die möglicherweise Ihr Produkt, Service oder Webseite benutzen. Personas zu kreieren kann helfen die Bedürfnisse, Erlebnisse, Verhaltensweisen und Ziele von Benutzern zu verstehen. Szenarien sind fiktionale Abläufe in denen Personas interagieren, dies hilft den Nutzerkontext zu verstehen und zu beschreiben.

(Big) Data Analysis

In unserer Forschung und in Dienstleistungprojekten beschäftigen wir uns täglich mit quantiativen Daten und haben viel Erfahrung im Bereich von statistischen Analyseverfahren. Nebst klassischen Gruppenvergleichen in Experimenten oder A/B Testing, können wir Daten aus verschiedensten Quellen aufbereiten und integrieren, um ein umfassendes Verständins für das Erleben und Verhalten der Benutzer zu entwickeln. Auch aus unstrukturierten Daten können mittels Data Mining und Machine Learning Modelle des Erlebens und Verhaltens der Benutzer entwickelt werden, welche zu neuen Erkentnissen für die Entwicklung führen.

Prototyping

Diese Methode ermöglicht es, Benutzerschnittstellen und -führungen “auf Papier” zu entwickeln und zu testen. Hierzu wird ein sogenannter Wireframe Prototyp erstellt und zusammen mit Endbenutzern getestet. Die so ermittelten Resultate werden, zwischen den Tests, zur Verbesserung verwendet, welche dann mit anderen Benutzern erneut getestet werden (“iterativer Zyklus”). Im Normalfall reichen 2-4 Iterationen à 3-4 Benutzer. Das Verfahren liefert deshalb gute Resultate, weil die Konzeption auf Benutzer-Rückmeldungen basiert und nicht auf spekulativen Annahmen. So wird sichergestellt, dass der umgesetzte Prototyp auf Anhieb funktioniert und Mängel nicht erst im Nachhinein korrigiert werden müssen.

Sind Sie daran interessiert, wichtige Schritte Ihres Projekts benutzerfreundlich zu planen und zu realisieren?

Unsere Kunden

Wir arbeiten seit vielen Jahren mit zahlreichen Unternehmen und öffentlichen Institutionen zusammen. Gerne können wir Ihnen auch persönliche Referenzen nennen, welche über die Qualität der Zusammenarbeit Auskunft geben. Nehmen Sie mit uns Kontakt auf.

Actelion
Allgemeine Plakatgesellschaft APG
Aperto Schweiz
Bank Coop
Basler Kantonalbank
Schweizerische Bundeskanzlei
Coop
Credit Suisse
EHB – Eidgenössisches Hochschulinstitut für Berufsbildung
EKS – Elektrizitätswerk Kanton Schaffhausen
Fenaco
Imagepoint
Interhome
Kanton Basel-Stadt
Kanton Luzern
Kanton St.Gallen
Kreisvier Communications AG
Kuoni
Nationale Suisse
SBB
Schweizerische Mobiliar
Stimmt AG
Swisscom
Tamedia
UBS AG
Universitätsspital Zürich
Vacando
Wogg
Zeeyoo
Zürcher Kantonalbank